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        November 21, 2016 

 

 

MEMORANDUM 

 

 

To:  All North Carolina Forest Service Districts  

 

From:  Scott Bissette, Assistant Commissioner 

 

RE:  Adding Additional Counties to the Cancellation of Burning Permits and Implementation  

of a Burning Ban 

 

 

 

Confirming authorization due to hazardous forest fire conditions, I am using authority under the law (106-944 & 

106-946) to cancel all burning permits and prohibit all open burning for the additional counties of Alleghany, 

Anson, Ashe, Cabarrus, Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Iredell, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, 

Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Rowan, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Union, Wilkes and Yadkin.   

 

With this action, burning permits are canceled and all open burning is prohibited for the entire following 47 

counties: Alexander, Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Caswell, Catawba, 

Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Graham, Guilford, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell, 

Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Montgomery, Polk, Randolph, 

Richmond, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Watauga, 

Wilkes, Yadkin and Yancey. 

 

This ban on open burning for the newly added counties is effective at 5 p.m. on November 21, 2016, and shall 

remain in effect until further notice. The ban on open burning for the previous counties went into effect at 5 p.m. 

on November 7, 2016, and remains in effect until further notice. 
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(Scott Bissette) 

Ban on Open Burning in NC 

 

 

Distribute widely to the affected areas. The burn ban does not apply to fires started within 100 feet of an occupied 

dwelling. Fires within that 100 feet must be confined within an enclosure from which burning material may not 

escape or within a protected area upon which a watch is being maintained and which is provided with adequate 

fire protection equipment. The local Fire Marshal has authority to issue a burn ban within 100 feet of an occupied 

dwelling. 

        

       By Direction of: 

 

       
 

       Steven W. Troxler, Commissioner 

      N.C. Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

  

 

          

Cc: NCDA&CS Public Affairs Director   

USFS Asheville Dispatch   

USFS Public Affairs    

S.C. State Commission of Forestry  

Georgia Forestry Commission 

Tennessee Division of Forestry 

N.C. Division of Emergency Management  

Division of Air Quality 

NC Office of State Fire Marshal    

NCFS Operations Rooms   

NCFS Regional Foresters  


