North Carolina Department of Agriculture
and Consumer Services
N.C. Forest Service

Steven W. Troxler Scott Bissette
Commissioner Assistant Commissioner

November 21, 2016

MEMORANDUM

To: All North Carolina Forest Service Districts

From: Scott Bissette, Assistant Commissioner

RE: Adding Additional Counties to the Cancellation of Burning Permits and Implementation

of a Burning Ban

Confirming authorization due to hazardous forest fire conditions, I am using authority under the law (106-944 &
106-946) to cancel all burning permits and prohibit all open burning for the additional counties of Alleghany,
Anson, Ashe, Cabarrus, Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Iredell, Mecklenburg, Montgomery,
Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Rowan, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Union, Wilkes and Yadkin.

With this action, burning permits are canceled and all open burning is prohibited for the entire following 47
counties: Alexander, Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Caswell, Catawba,
Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Gaston, Graham, Guilford, Haywood, Henderson, Iredell,
Jackson, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Montgomery, Polk, Randolph,
Richmond, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Watauga,

Wilkes, Yadkin and Yancey.

This ban on open burning for the newly added counties is effective at 5 p.m. on November 21, 2016, and shall
remain in effect until further notice. The ban on open burning for the previous counties went into effect at 5 p.m.

on November 7, 2016, and remains in effect until further notice.
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Distribute widely to the affected areas. The burn ban does not apply to fires started within 100 feet of an occupied

dwelling. Fires within that 100 feet must be confined within an enclosure from which burning material may not

escape or within a protected area upon which a watch is being maintained and which is provided with adequate

fire protection equipment. The local Fire Marshal has authority to issue a burn ban within 100 feet of an occupied

dwelling.

Cc:

NCDA&CS Public Affairs Director
USFS Asheville Dispatch

USFS Public Affairs

S.C. State Commission of Forestry
Georgia Forestry Commission
Tennessee Division of Forestry
N.C. Division of Emergency Management
Division of Air Quality

NC Office of State Fire Marshal
NCEFES Operations Rooms

NCFS Regional Foresters
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